GET TO KNOW WHY

« Get to know why !». I think that’s where it all started.

After several experiences and exploring my interest in design practice through product, furniture, interior and retail design, I can now say that I found my way.

People somehow see us, designers, as random problem solvers you will get in touch with to achieve a specific and narrow task, at their demand. While in fact they just want you to achieve what they exactly have in mind, reducing your entire added value and unique sensibility to a « 3D or 2D software guy ». I never felt that way. Designers are in a way problem solvers, but to me 50% of the solution resides in the problem formulation. What is your real issue ? Why do you feel it like a problem ? These simple questions widens your problem solving approach. What if your product sales issue does not resides into the design of the product itself ? While in fact your entire communication is blurring the real product advantages ?

Get to see the big picture.

I have been working for several companies, agencies (half of them abroad) and it always was a valuable gain of experience, but mostly, left me with a persistent frustration.

Who is really designing ? In charge of the design work, you’re supposed to understand the brief and to come up with proposals a client will choose. You will sharpen your ideas though a continuous conversation with the client, until the final outcome. But as long the designer-client conversation goes on, I always felt frustrated to not have been part of the real project’s origins. Being involved in the project at the same level as the client.

How did the primary intensions emerged ? How did you decided to resolve your case with a specific product ? With an inquisitive nature I wanted to get involved at the birth of the project. All these questions slowly but surely drove my interest to focus into art direction.

During these past 2 years I had the chance to be part of the Art direction team of one of the biggest brand of the LVMH group, where I was trained to the art direction practice.

After these years of design explorations, that was it ! Seating at the marketing desk on one hand to understand the birth of a project, and dealing with designers on the other hand to achieve the physical aspect : Getting to know the « WHY » and turn it into a reality.

Willing to improve my skills is this field, I decided to apply for a master course in design management at the London of College of Communication.

A new experience is opening up to me. Also a way to discover how far art direction and design management can go. How does it work in other businesses ? Will the task will be the same everywhere ? What design management is all about ?

I guess that’s how my inquisitive nature drives me. Looking for new experiences, travel to enrich myself with new visions, and getting to know why.

Leave a comment